
 1 

Dungeons & Dragons: The Fantasy Adventure Board Game (2002) 

Official Hints and Tips (aka F.A.Q.) 

 

1. When can a Hero use artifacts?  An artifact may be used at any time, as long as the Hero has 
it in “use” on the left hand side of their Hero card. 

 
2. If a Hero is brought back to life, do they restart with full Hit points and Spell points?  No. 

A Hero who is brought back to life during an Adventure (with either the Greater Restoration spell 
or a potion) returns with 4 Hit points (or 4 Spell points if they are a magic user). 

 
3. Can a Hero stand on a chest if they don’t want to open it? No. A Hero can only move onto a 

chest if they open it on the same turn. This takes up both of their actions for that turn. 
 
4. Is a trap safe when it has been found? Is a trap safe when it has been sprung? When a 

trap is found a market token is placed on the board, but it is not safe yet. Only after a trap has 
been disabled or sprung is it safe to walk over. 

 
5. Do trees and pillars block ranged attacks? Yes. Heroes and Monsters are safe from ranged 

attack if a tree blocks the line of sight of the attacker. 
 
6. Can arrows or spells be fired between two trees or pillars next to each other? No. Two 

trees or pillars on space next to each other make a solid obstacle. 
 
7. Can Monsters attack twice on their turn? No. On its turn a Monster can choose one of the 

following options: attack and move; move twice; move only once; attack only once; make no 
movement or attack. 

 
8. Can a ranged weapon be fired at a character diagonally ‘next to’ mine? Yes. Only the 

spaces directly in front, behind, left, and right of a character are classed as being ‘next to’ them. 
As ranged weapons cannot be used when standing next to a character, they can be used on the 
diagonal spaces. 

 
9. Can ranged weapons be fired over a chest? Yes. Although chests cannot be stood on or 

walked over, they do not block ranged weapons. 
 
10. Can a Hero attack an Ooze with a ranged weapon? Yes. An Ooze can be hit by ranged 

attack in the same way as any other Monster. 
 
11. Can an Ooze dissolve a spell? No. Oozes can only dissolve weapons. 
 
12. Can non-magic users carry spells? Yes. For example, Regdar and Lidda may pick up and 

carry spells, but they are unable to use them. Spells must be given to a magic user before they 
can be cast. 

 
13. Can Jozan heal himself? Yes. It is difficult to complete many of the Adventures if Jozan does 

not heal himself.  His healing powers are a valuable resource for the team of Heroes and you 
should try to ensure that Jozan remains alive. It uses one action for Jozan to heal himself, 
costing 1 Spell point per Hit point healed. 
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14. Can Monsters open doors? No. Only Heroes can open doors. 
 
15. Once a door has been opened can a Hero close it again? No. Generally, once a door has 

been opened it remains open for the rest of the Adventure.  Some doors may close again if 
triggered be something else in the Adventure, but a Hero cannot choose to close a door. 

 
16. If a Hero dies when carrying a key, is the key lost and the Adventure over? No. Keys are 

carried by the team of Heroes, not by an individual. Once a key has been found, any surviving 
Heroes have access to the key for the rest of that Adventure. 

 
17. Can a Hero perform the same action twice on their turn? Yes. For example, they may 

decide to attack twice, or search for traps twice. Any action may be repeated.  
 
18. If a blank is rolled on the “Search for Traps” die can the Hero search again on that turn? 

Each trap search uses an action. If a Hero rolls a blank on the “Search for Traps” die on the first 
action of your turn, they may search again on their second action. 

 
19. If a Hero dies should less Initiative cards be dealt out? No. Always deal an Initiative card to 

each character, even if they are dead.  That way, if a Hero is brought back to life, they come into 
play on their turn. 

 
20. Do all Monsters have to be defeated and all chests opened to complete an Adventure? No. 

Each Adventure has its own objective. Some may require you to defeat all Monsters or open all 
chests, but others may be completed with Monsters or chests still remaining. The Adventure 
ends as soon as the objective is completed. 

 
21. If something affects all “living” things, does it affect undead creatures? No. Undead 

creatures are not counted as living. 
 
22. Can a Hero go above their starting number of Hit points on each level? No. The starting Hit 

points and Spell points for each Hero are also the maximum Hit points that Hero may earn 
during that Adventure. Hit or Spell points can only be restored up to this amount. 

 
23. Do the Items a Hero has ‘in use’ count as part of the total Items they can carry? Yes. The 

number of Items a Hero can carry includes those in their knapsack and ‘in use.’ 
 
24. Does a character have to move their full movement allowance on each turn? No. A 

character can move any number of spaces up to their maximum movement allowance for one 
action. They can choose to use both actions as movement, or not to move at all. 

 
25. Why can’t Initiative cards be revealed until the DM has laid out a new room? The Dungeon 

Master must not see the Initiative order before the room has been laid out because it might 
influence the positioning of the Monsters. For example, the Dungeon Master might place all 
Monsters by the door if they know they will be going first. 

 
26. Can one player control more than one Hero during a game? Yes. The game is for two to 

five players but all four Heroes must play each Adventure to be able to complete it. A player can 
control up to four Heroes, but must treat each Hero individually. 

 
27. If I want to stop playing, but carry on from where I left off on another day, can I keep my 

Items and Points for the next Adventure?  Yes – this is the best way to play! Note down the 
points and items collected by each player and start the next Adventure with these. 
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28. Does a Hero have to open a door as soon as they move next to it? No. A Hero can move 
onto the space in front of a door and treat it as a normal space.  If they have an action left, they 
can announce they wish to open the door, and it opens immediately. However, if moving next to 
the door was their second action, or they decide to wait for other Heroes to catch up before 
opening it, they may wait. 

 
29. Can undead Monsters go outside? Most undead Monsters can go outside, except Wraiths, 

who are damaged by natural light. 
 
30. Can a Hero swap an Item with one from their knapsack during combat? No. It uses one 

action to swap an item from the knapsack into ‘use.’  If a Hero makes an attack and then swaps 
an item, both actions for that turn will have been used. The item will then be ready for use on 
the next turn. 

 
31. Can Lidda sneak through more than one Monster at a time? Yes. Lidda can move through 

as many Monsters as she wishes as one action, but she cannot end her turn on the same space 
as a Monster. 

 
32. Why does using a spell cost a different amount of Spell points for Wizards than for 

Clerics? Although both Wizards and Clerics use magic, Clerics are better at using healing 
spells, while Wizards are more skilled using attacking spells. Therefore, it costs less for a Cleric 
to heal and more for them to attack than a Wizard. 

 
33. Can a Hero only drink a potion when it is their turn? No. Potions can be used any time. 
 
34. How do I know the maximum score I can roll with the dice for each weapon or spell? The 

card that represents the weapon or spell shows the dice that should be rolled when it is used. 
The number of swords shown on these dice also adds up to the maximum score that can be 
rolled with them. 

 
35. Can a ranged weapon be fired through a doorway into another room? Yes—as long as the 

door is not blocked, ranged weapons and spells can be fired into other rooms. ‘Line of Sight” 
rules must still be obeyed, as on page 9 of the Player’s Guide. 

 
36. If the Heroes lose a special Item they need to complete an Adventure, does the 

Adventure end immediately?  If a Hero carrying a required special item is killed and cannot be 
brought back to life then the Adventure is over and the Dungeon Master wins. However, Jozan 
or the potion of Greater Restoration can bring Heroes back to life with everything they were 
carrying when they died. In this case, the Adventure can be completed.  A key is a special Item, 
but it is kept by the group and cannot be lost as long as at least one Hero is still alive. 

 
37. If a Hero is brought back to life, do they still have the Items they collected so far? Yes. A 

Hero is brought back to life with exactly the same Items they had when they died. The Hero 
comes back with 4 Hit points (and 4 Spell points if they are a magic user). 

 
38. Do all the Heroes have to complete the objective to finish an Adventure? No. As long as 

one Hero completes the Adventure objective alive, the Heroes win. 
 
39. What token does the DM put on the board to show a special chest? Only the Dungeon 

Master knows which chests are special. To keep them secret, the DM places a normal chest 
token on the board where a special chest is marked. When a Hero opens it, the Dungeon 
Master reveals that it is a special chest and gives the Hero the special Item inside. 
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40. What does the DM do if a Hero reveals the two nearest traps, but there are three the same 
distance apart? The Dungeon Master should reveal any two of the traps of their choice, but not 
the third. Heroes should not assume that because they have found two traps there will not be a 
third nearby. 

 
41. If one Hero rolls the ‘hand’ symbol whilst searching for traps, does that mean that no one 

else is allowed to search that room either? No. Another Hero who is able to search a room 
for traps may do so, as long as they haven’t rolled the ‘hand’ symbol too. 

 
42. Can Monsters move over trap spaces? Yes. Monsters know the location of the traps and are 

able to move carefully over them without revealing their location to the Heroes. 
 
43. Do Monsters only appear in the room they are shown in on the map? Yes. Monsters should 

only appear in the rooms indicated on the Adventure layout, but their exact location within that 
room is chosen by the Dungeon Master, Monsters may subsequently move out of their starting 
room through an open door. 

 
44. Why are some traps shown in a different colour on the map from others? There are 

different types of trap, shown by different colours on the map. Each Adventure uses up to three 
different types of trap, and the DM can see what they are by looking at the map key for that 
Adventure. Whatever the colour of the trap, the same trap tokens are used on the boards. 

 
45. Can Monsters carry Items? No. A Monster can only use the weapon indicated on its card and 

cannot carry any other items. 
 
46. Can a Monster stand on a chest? No. Monsters are not allowed to stand on, or move through, 

chests. 
 
47. Do undead Monsters lose Hit points when they are ‘turned’? No. ‘Turning’ an undead 

Monster causes it to miss a turn, but it suffers no Hit point damage. 
 
48. Why is it better to play the Adventures through in order? The early Adventures guide the 

Heroes and the Dungeon Master through the way the game works and allow Heroes to pick up 
Items that will be useful later. Heroes will find it very difficult to complete more difficult 
Adventures without picking up weapons, spells, and artifacts earlier on. 

 
49. What does a shaded room mean on the Dungeon layout map? Shaded rooms indicate that 

they are not used in the current Adventure. 
 
50. How does the DM know which Monsters are being shown by the symbols on the 

Dungeon layout? All of the Monster symbols and their matching figures are shown on the back 
cover of the Dungeon Master’s Guide, for quick reference throughout the game. 


